11 Day Challenge #1: Read 1 Hour a Day

reading is sexy

Here is the truth: I have a long list in the back of my head of things I think I should be doing, but don’t actually do.

This list mainly includes actions I could be taking daily that I think would make me a better person.  I’ve started this blog because I want to test out this potentially arbitrary theory that these “should be doing” things would actually make me a better person.  In a world of self-help books/blogs and never-ending magazine articles telling you about things you should be doing that will make you skinnier, happier, prettier, more in love, blah blah blah it can be challenging to feel satisfied with your day to day life.  I often wonder if the pressure I feel to “better” my life is real or if it is just because the media I am surrounded by tells me I need to constantly better my life.  So I’m putting these ideas to the test and I will be experimenting by trying out different things I often here or read I should be doing.  Yes, supposedly it takes 21 days to build a habit but in this day in age who has time to wait 21 days?  I’ve done 30 day challenges in the past and have found that by about day 10 you have an idea of the impact of the change of behavior.  Thus, I will be testing out these experiments over the course of 11 days.  If all goes well I will likely implement the behavior change into my everyday life… If not then I will be kicking it to the curb and will no longer feel guilty that I don’t do it each and every day.

 

STEP ONE: I will be read for one hour every day for the next eleven days.  Reading is something I like doing but never do.   So far in 2016 I’ve read 2 books.  We are half way through the year!! That is kind of sad.  I did some research and discovered that most Americans are in the same boat.  Check out these stats (source):

  • 25% of people have not read a book in the last year
  • 46% of adults score in the lowest two levels of literacy
  • Reading frequency declines after age eight

That means 1/4 adults are not reading books.  Supposedly people that read make more money.  People that read have higher career success and are more satisfied with their life.  Reading is always something I know I should be doing, but easily find other things to do instead like check Instagram for the 5th time that day, or watch a Netflix show, or surf the internet, etc.

So starting today I will be reading an hour a day and updating along the way how I do it and what I think about the change of behavior!  I will do a final update after the 11 days and let you know if I will continue the habit.

Book I am starting with: Mildred Pierce.  I started this book like 2 months ago and have like 30 pages left!!

2 thoughts on “11 Day Challenge #1: Read 1 Hour a Day

  1. I love that Reading is Sexy picture! I used to have that on a tshirt after I saw it on Gilmore girls!
    PS I just started a blog too. It’s pretty rambly at the moment but feel free to check it out 🙂 thekittenknits.tumblr.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

