What I Liked About The Book Timequake By Kurt Vonnegut

 

848481

I started reading for 1 hour a day almost 3 weeks ago.  It was originally an 11 day challenge, but having a goal to read an hour a day helped me actually sit down and read so much more than usual, that I have chosen to continue this challenge.  Because I’ve been actually taking the time to sit down and open up a book almost every single day, I’ve been able to start and finish several books.  I know for some people that may not be very impressive, but in the past I’ve been the type of girl that checks out 6 books at the library, and only ever maybe would finish one over the course of like a month (except for that book Gone Girl that everyone read a couple years ago, that thing I finished in like 5 hours).

Anyways last week I started and finished the book Timequake by Kurt Vonnegut. I’ve only ever read Slaughterhouse Five, and wanted to try out another novel by the author.  One of my favorite friends is pretty much in love with Vonnegut and always makes me think I should be reading more of his books.  I saw this one at the library and the title intrigued me, so I decided to take it home with me.

Timequake is kind of a sh*t show and that’s kind of what I loved about it.  The book jumps back and forth from being somewhat of an autobiography as well as a piece of science fiction.  Basically he is writing about his life as a writer as well as a fictional event in which everyone in the world has to relive the past ten years of their life, but they can’t change one single thing during the process of reliving it.  This event is referred to as a Timequake.  A character named Kilgore Trout, who is an under appreciated science fiction writer, is also a focus in the book.  Trout has some amazing dialogue in the book, and I absolutely loved his melancholy but wise quotes.

 

I really liked this book because it was so unique.  Vonnegut has such a distinct type of writing and world that he creates with his words is like nothing I’ve ever read about before.  Although the writing style took me a second to get used to, I ended up really looking forward to my hour each day with this book.  It made me laugh, and it made me stop and really think about life a couple of times.  Are we making our own choices (free will), or are we all just going through the motions even without a “timequake” occurring.  Are we in control?, or is that what we just tell ourselves to make life seem manageable.

All I can say is that if you want something that is spectacular, pick up this book.

Here are some quotes that made me pause:

“All persons, living and dead, are purely coincidental.”

“But by accident, not by cunning calculation, books, because of their weight and texture, and because of their sweetly token resistance to manipulation, involve our hands and eyes, and then our minds and souls, in a spiritual adventure I would be very sorry for my grandchildren not to know about.” (this quote made me really love that I am reading more!)

“TV is an eraser.”

“science never cheered up anyone. the human situation is just too awful.”

“It was all here for me, just as it has all been here for you, the best and the worst of Western Civilization, if you cared to pay attention: music, finance, government, architecture, law and sculpture and painting, history and medicine and athletics and every sort of science, and books, books, books, and teachers and role models.
People so smart you can’t believe it, and people so dumb you can’t believe it. People so nice you can’t believe it, and people so mean you can’t believe it.”

Leave a Reply

